Program Description

Effective October 1, 2015, all health plans, healthcare care clearing houses, and healthcare providers must transition from the ICD-9 codes to the new ICD-10 code set.

Under the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA), everyone will have to comply with the transition. Please note, the CPT (Current Procedural Terminology) coding for physician services and outpatient services will not be affected by the change. The new ICD-10 that replaces the ICD-9 code set will only be used for inpatient procedures and the reporting of medical diagnosis. All healthcare facilities must use the ICD-10-CM codes; whereas, the ICD10-PCS codes will only be used by hospitals to report all inpatient procedures.

As the compliance date draws near, medical coders, physicians, HIM staff, and other healthcare professionals, are urged to prepare for the implementation of the ICD-10 codes. Since the ICD-10 coding system affects all individuals, the change provides an opportunity for individuals who are new or interested in seeking employment in the medical industry.

What Is The Difference Between ICD-9 and ICD-10?
The current ICD-9 codes consist of nearly 17,000 codes; however, the new ICD-10 consist of over 155,000 codes. The complexity and specification requires all coders to have specialized training in order to effectively use the new codes. The increase in complex codes will require medical coders to have a clear understanding in the area of biomedical sciences.

Course objectives

  •  The opportunity to learn from home
  • Affordable Education and Training
  • The ability to progress at your own pace
  • Work from home with ICD-10 certification
  • Provides convenient online courses and flexibility
  • Continue in your profession while obtaining new certification
  • Jump start a new career

Program Requirements

High school diploma